The Pros and Cons of a Gluten-Free Diet

Diet Plans for Different Lifestyles

Getting Started
I switched to Vivelle Dot and found that the situation dramatically improved and that I just felt so much better, sharper, leaner, in general. View all 6 comments Add your Comment. To include being tired all the time-dry skin-bloated especially the middle area of my body, literally went from a size to a 14 in just three months and that size is getting tight Does Rice Protein Contain Gluten? As awareness increases, you will likely find more products labeled with information noting their wheat content.

What Does a Healthy Gluten-Free Diet Look Like?

17 Weekly Diet Plans

The gluten-free diet is healthier for people with gluten-related disorders celiac disease or gluten sensitivity , but there is no evidence that it is beneficial for people who do not have these conditions. Symptoms of celiac disease and gluten sensitivity are similar and may include: There are hundreds of potential symptoms, many of which are also symptoms of other conditions.

It is also important to consult with your healthcare provider in order to evaluate other possible causes of symptoms. The first step to testing for both conditions is a panel of blood tests looking for an antibody response to gluten. If these tests are positive, the next step is an endoscopy. If the endoscopy shows the intestinal cell damage characteristic of celiac disease, this is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis.

Consequently, the celiac disease testing described above would be done. In addition, wheat allergy and other potential causes of symptoms should be ruled out. If all of these conditions have been ruled out and the patient responds positively to a gluten-free diet, then the diagnosis of non-celiac gluten sensitivity may be made.

There are lots of rumors swirling around the gluten-free diet. In fact, eating too many gluten-free packaged foods can cause weight gain, but more on that in a minute. Maybe eliminating gluten-containing foods just helps you feel better—something the estimated 18 million Americans who suffer from gluten sensitivity can attest to.

No matter what your reasoning, starting a gluten-free diet the right way can keep you happy, healthy and satisfied. Is Eating Gluten-Free Healthier? Chicken Chili with Sweet Potatoes. Surprisingly, it's similar to a traditionally healthy diet—few fancy foods required. Fill up your plate with naturally wholesome gluten-free foods, such as vegetables, fruits, beans, nuts, seeds, fish and lean meat , says Begun. And if you love your grains, you can still eat them.

Rice, millet, quinoa and buckwheat are just a few examples. Today, you can easily find gluten-free pasta made from corn, quinoa or beans.

If you eat this way, you likely won't have to worry about nutritional deficiencies, says Begun. Commonly, newly diagnosed celiac sufferers are deficient in fiber, iron, calcium, vitamin D and even protein, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation. In that case Begun recommends speaking with a registered dietitian, who may recommend supplements or other necessary dietary changes.

Dark Chocolate Trail Mix. If you don't plan out this new way of eating, it's easy to default to gluten-free packaged foods. You know—the gluten-free muffins or brownies or cereals or pizza. These are often made with refined grains and heavy in sugar and often contain more calories than their traditional counterparts.

So think of these as "on occasion" foods. It's just like with any diet. A candy bar is just a candy bar—gluten-free or not. So you're going to get used to playing food detective. While food companies are required to list allergens on the label e. So while you can look for "gluten-free" on the front of the package, you should also flip it over and read the ingredients label. It's also not enough if a food says "wheat-free. Here's what you're looking for, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation: Oats are often contaminated with gluten, so they have to specifically be certified gluten-free oats.

Gluten-free flours, such as millet or amaranth, should also be bought certified gluten-free, says Begun. If the label lists an ingredient you're not familiar with, "wait to eat it until you can confirm that it's safe," she says.

Popular on CBS News